MAC DEMARCO ANNOUNCES MOSTLY ACOUSTIC NEW RECORD, “THIS OLD DOG

By Ian Bremner

Mac DeMarco is back with a new, mostly-acoustic record, This Old Dog, and has shared two new singles, including the title track.

Few artists have the cult-like fandom as DeMarco, but pressure and certain expectations do not seem to enter into his mind in the slightest. Whether it’s the jangle-pop-slacker-rock arena where he first broke into, or the new songwriter-y sonic direction, DeMarco just sort of does his thing.

Originally from Vancouver, Canada, he has spent most of his music career days in Queens and Rockaway Beach, New York. This record’s breezy California feel may be attributed to his move to Los Angeles. He had an album full of demos  from his recordings in New York and had planned to finish the album once he arrived in LA. By the time he got there, he decided to sit with the songs in his back pocket while he got to know the new surroundings. The result is an acoustic record, but he’s careful not to call it just that. “It’s not really an acoustic album at all. That’s just what it feels like, mostly. I’m Italian, so I guess this is an Italian rock record.”

This Old Dog

My Old Man

This Old Dog Tracklisting:
1. My Old Man
2. This Old Dog
3. Baby You’re Out
4. For the First Time
5. One Another
6. Still Beating
7. Sister
8. Dreams From Yesterday
9. A Wolf Who Wears Sheeps Clothes
10. One More Love Song
11. On the Level
12. Moonlight on the River
13. Watching Him Fade Away

mac-d-album

Mac DeMarco Tour Dates:
Fri. March 3 – Okeechobee, FL @ Okeechobee Music & Arts Festival
Fri. March 24 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Sat. March 25 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Fri. Apr. 14 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival
Fri. Apr. 21 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival
Tue. May 9 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Burlington *
Thu. May 11 – Montreal, QB @ Metropolis *
Sat. May. 13 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Theater *
Sun. May. 14 – Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre *
Mon. May. 15 – Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues – Cleveland *
Tue. May. 16 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre *
Wed. May. 17 – Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works *
Fri. May. 19 – Sun. May 21 – Gulf Shores, AL @ Hangout Music Festival at Gulf Shores Beach
Sat. May. 20 – Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle *
Sun. May. 21 – Asheville, NC @ Highland Brewing Company *
Mon. May. 22 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Small’s Theater *
Tue. May. 23 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Fri. May 26  – Sun. May 28 – Allston, MA @ Boston Calling Music Festival at Harvard Athletic Fields
Tue. May 30 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton – Sold Out
Wed. May 31 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton
Fri. June 2 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sun. June 4 – New York, NY @ Governor’s Ball at Randall’s Island Park
Wed. Aug. 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ Den Graa Hal
Thu. Aug. 10 – Oslo, NO @ Oya Festival
Fri. Aug. 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West
Sun. Aug. 13 – Prague, CZ @ Meet Factory
Mon. Aug. 14 – Budapest, HU @ Sziget Festival
Tue. Aug. 15 – Vienna, AT @ Arena
Fri. Aug. 18 – Biddinghuizen, NE @ Lowlands Festival
Sun. Aug. 20 – Saint Malo, FR @ La Route du Rock
Wed. Aug. 23 – Zurich, CH @ Zurich Open Air Festival
Tue. Aug. 29 – Newcastle, UK @ The Academy
Wed. Aug. 30 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall
Fri. Sep. 8 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theater
Sat. Sep. 9 – Portland, OR @ Oregon Zoo Amphitheatre
Sun. Sep. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Tue. Nov. 7 – Hamburg, DE @ Grunspan
Wed. Nov. 8 – Berlin, DE @ Astra
Fri. Nov. 10 – Cologne, DE @ Kantine
Wed. Nov. 22 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Thu. Nov. 30 – Amsterdam, NE @ Paradiso